Jack's Journal

Weekly Trivia

What percentage of Americans listen to the radio on a weekly basis?

Survey includes Americans aged 18+

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

What A Day

“Your startup will bankrupt your bank account, relationships and career.”

^ Someone actually said that to my face. Wtf, right!? Who says something like that? It happened the second after I went full-time with Habits. Or at least when I shared with them that I was.

At first it fueled me. In a way it help me unlock my own Mamba mentality. I’d say to myself prove them wrong! You’ll show them!

But just to be clear, it’s by far the lowest contributor to my entreprenurial motivation. Think of it as a shot of adrenaline.

The best source?

Days like yesterday.

iHeart Radio Interview

iHeart Media Headquarters

Yesterday, my co-founder and I were invited to iHeart Radio’s headquarters and they treated us like VIPs. We got a tour, spent a few hours in studio, and they even offered 17 FREE advertisement slots to promote Habits. Why?

Richard (co-host of Passage to Profit) essentially fell in love with our mission and felt compelled to help.

For perspective, the interview (and those advertisements) will be broadcasted to 39 radio stations and millions of people will hear it. In addition, this particular iHeart Radio segment is one of the top U.S entreprenurial radio shows and podcasts.

I felt like a celebrity.

None of it felt real.

And want to know the best part? One of our interns secured this gig for us through a cold email. What a world we live in today.

So needless to say, I’m pretty fired the f**k up.

Influencer Status Loading…

Oh and it doesn’t stop there. But let me give you some context…

Earlier this year I had DM’d my favorite clothing brand. At the time, a few TikTok followers had commented or asked about the clothes I wear, and it struck me as an opportunity.

Best case? I get some free clothes. Worst case? They ghost me.

Cuts Clothing NYC Storefront

Fast forward 7 months later and I’m hit with “Oh my god you’re that TikTok finance guy. Becca (Cuts employee) told us some influencer was coming in, but she didn’t say it was you!” right as I walk through the front door of their NYC location.

So after you combine this with the iHeart Radio experience, I was about ready to run through a brick wall.

But let me be clear, our path to this point has been nothing pretty. A lot of late nights. A lot of lonely weekends. And plenty of critical feedback, no’s, not right now’s, and even a few “your startup will bankrupt your…”

You get my point.

But yesterday was one for the 2024 yearbook and I’ll be sure to share more once the interview goes live!

Find Your Financial Advisor!

It’s become very clear to us that the preferred method of finding a financial advisor is through a 1v1 call with our team.

I opened an additional 8 slots earlier this week, but they closed up in less than 24hrs.

If you’re somebody on the sidelines or are not sure if a financial advisor makes sense for you or your family, just shoot me an email at [email protected].

Thanks for reading, Habits fam. See you back here next week for more.

-JB