Jack's Journal (10/10)

Simplify, Simplify, Simplify

Welcome!

If you are new here, I’m Jack Boudreau

Whether you saw a TikTok or Instagram Reel, or maybe a friend shot this over to you via email, this is my unfiltered approach to share our startup journey, my part-time influencer career, and just life in general.

Got questions or feedback?

Contact me at [email protected] 

Simplify, Simplify, Simplify

I began my professional career in 2017 through the J.P. Morgan analyst program. Candidly, it was a pretty cool opportunity. That year they took only 250 of us worldwide. And legit we spent the first few months under one roof at MetroTech in Brooklyn.

Best part? Day 3 we head over to 383 Madison Ave., and had an hour Q&A sesh with Jamie Dimon. Now I know everyone isn’t a fan of his, but I am.

The dude legit just sat down and said “so let’s get started,” and everybody shot their hands up (mine included).

And of f*cking course I get chosen amidst the crowd of eager analysts and on the spot, I thought of some bs question about work/life balance (made the viral TikTok video below about it).

@jack_boudreau_

#stitch with @wallstreetoasis “That’s not a recommendation. It’s a prescription” #timemanagement #investmentbanking #w... See more

But low key he shared an answer that concluded with “that’s not a recommendation, that’s a prescription.”

That was nearly a decade ago and what he shared has stuck with me since.

His advice? Simplify.

And in all due respect, if that dude can simplify his sh*t, then we all can.

How I Simplify

I spend every Monday at 830am the same…

I write down the five things I need to get done that week both personally and professionally.

In general, it forces me to prioritize my time efficiently, promotes work/life balance, and it really emphasizes the importance of being intentional with my time.

Screenshot of my notebook (red is sensitive info)

But as you can see in my notebook I’m not perfect. Getting it all down to five things is hard as f*ck. Ever heard of the phrase “I didn’t have enough time to write you a shorter letter?” There’s a similar theme to it.

I’m going to be kind to myself because this week in particular was the last before quarter end, plus I was moving into a new apartment (which is dope btw → I share a photo below), and had a bunch of upcoming travel.

Generally speaking, there are some weeks I really force myself to write down daily to-do’s, set reminders on my phone, and even note things to get done next week.

This isn’t genius, nor am I some guru, but I promise you that life is not that complicated.

We make it complicated.

“That’s a tomorrow problem”

View from the new apartment

If you know me personally, you know where this is going…

During the late evenings of the analyst program I often said something along the lines of “that’s a tomorrow problem.” I definitely didn’t coin the phrase, but it caught on and noticed other people began to say it as well.

Because even amidst insane levels of stress, anxiety, pressure, and arbitrary lunatic deadlines…is it really life and death if it gets complete at 9am tomorrow vs. 11:30pm the night prior?

Where I’m getting at is your to-do list or however you organize your life shouldn’t strive for perfection. It’s just a means to keep you calibrated and on the ball.

But the important part in all of this is that you are replaceable at work, but not a home. Read that again.

Find Your Financial Advisor

If you’re somebody on the sidelines or are not sure if a financial advisor makes sense for you or your family, just shoot me an email at [email protected].

Or… visit our website and book time with us!

Thanks for reading, Habits fam. See you back here next week for more.

-JB